© Jorge León


Paumes (Palms) is a series of short pieces created on contemporary music compositions. One of our objectives in making this project was to bring the boundaries that exist between the contemporary dance audience and the contemporary music audience closer. We wanted to propose our choreographic language to contemporary music listeners, by making them see dance from other angles and varying the usual places and contexts of performances. Conversely, we wanted to give a dance audience the possibility to "see" music, by proposing contemporary music compositions that are often little known, frequently because of the lack of a "way in". We wish to establish contacts with other composers and contemporary musicians, and to envisage a performance, creating a full programme composed of four pieces, musically and choreographically distinct from one another.

Paumes is composed of four pieces: the solo Murmurs and the duets Winnsboro Cotton Mill Blues, Strumentale and Seuls bruits des corps entre eux. These pieces were choreographed on compositions by Denis Pousseur, Frederic Rzewski, Stefano Scodanibbio and Salvatore Sciarrino, respectively. They develop different universes connected by a series of imaginary bridges. These bridges become evident mainly by the order in which the pieces are presented in the programme, that can be presented without the solo Murmurs or without the duet Strumentale, while keeping the structure established between the three duets, or between the solo and the first and third duet.


production Coto de Caza now Niels Production (Brussels)
co-production Charleroi Danses - Centre Chorégraphique de la Communauté française de Belgique, Musica Libera (Brussels) and Plateau (Brussels)
legth 1h 30 min
choreography Olga de Soto
music Denis Pousseur (Solo for clarinet from the trio for clarinet, violin and piano Le Silence du Futur), Frederic Rzewski (Winnsboro Cotton Mill Blues, for two pianos), Stefano Scodanibbio (Strumentale, solo for double-bass) and Salvatore Sciarrino (Sei quartetti brillanti, for string quartett)
scenography and costumes Thibault Vancraenenbroeck
lighting and sound Gaëtan van den Berg
programme created and performed by Olga de Soto and Pascale Gigon

© Laurent Lafolie (1), Jorge León (2, 3), Grégoire Romefort (4)