© Dolorès Marat


June 25, 1946, Paris. The crowd rushes at the Théâtre des Champs Elysées for the premiere of a ballet created on an argument by Jean Cocteau. The amazing dancer Jean Babilée is topping the bill in the role of a young man dying for love. Fifty-eight years later, choreographer Olga de Soto conducts an inquiry on this ballet, which became legendary, and goes in search of spectators who saw it that night, to give voice to their memories and their forgettings. Personal stories mingle with that of the ballet, and few people tell the same story, or remember the dead, even so it is drawn at the heart of the ballet.

read more… 
(excerpts from the author's research and creation journal)


concept, direction, choreography, video direction, camera and sound Olga de Soto
video editing Montxo de Soto and Olga de Soto
set design Thibault Vancraenenbroeck
lighting Henri-Emmanuel Doublier
lighting control Henri-Emmanuel Doublier or Sarah Scouarnec or Geni Diez
sound mix Pierre Gufflet
sound technician Pierre Gufflet or Clément Marie
technical direction Christophe Gualde
with Mauro Paccagnella or Cyril Accorsi and Olga de Soto
This work was created with and performed by Vincent Druguet and Olga de Soto
with testimonies by (in order of appearance) Micheline Hesse, Suzanne Batbedat, Robert Genin, Brigitte Evellin, Julien Pley, Françoise Olivaux, Olivier Merlin and Frédéric Stern
music Johann Sebastian Bach (piano compositions, Sarabande from English Suite no. 2 BWV 807, Sarabande from English Suite no. 5 BWV 810, Passacaglia in C Minor BWV 852 - transcription for piano), performed by Angela Hewitt, piano (Hyperion Records Ltd London - CDA67309 & CDA67451/2)
production Niels Production (Brussels)
coproduction Kunstenfestivaldesarts (Brussels) and Centre National de la Danse (Paris)
supported by COM4HD (Madrid) and Ministère de la Communauté française de Belgique – Secteur danse

This project was initiated in the frame of Hommages, by Culturgest (Lisbon), in 2003
language French / subtitled in the language of the country
length 1h10
* An analytical work that takes The Young Man and Death by Jean Cocteau and Roland Petit as its starting-point. 
The performance histoire(s) is a French speaking performance. To presented it in other languages subtitles are required.

histoire(s) has been translated in German, English, Catalan, Spanish, Hungarian, Dutch, Norwegian, Portuguese and Turkish. 

CAT | Catalan version coproduced in collaboration with Mercat de les Flors, Barcelona (ES).
DE | German version coproduced in collaboration with Tanz Im August, Berlin (DT).
EN | English version produced by Niels Production, Brussels (BE).
ES | Spanish version coproduced in collaboration with Festival VEO, Valencia y Escena Contemporánea, Madrid (ES).
HUN | Hungarian version coproduced in collaboration with Trafó, Budapest (HUN).
NL | Dutch version coproduced in collaboration with Kunstenfestivaldesarts, Bruselas (BE).
NO | Norwegian version coproduced in collaboration with Dansenshus, Oslo (NO).
PT | Portuguese version coproduced in collaboration with Culturgest, Lisboa (PT).
TR | Turkish version coproduced in collaboration with Festival iDans, Estambul (TUR).
histoire(s) is an analytical work that has The Young Man and Death, by Roland Petit and Jean Cocteau as its starting point.

© Dolorès Marat